EURO 2020

EURO 2020. The 2020 UEFA European Football Championship, commonly referred to as UEFA Euro 2020 or simply Euro 2020, is scheduled to be the 16th UEFA European Championship, the quadrennial international men’s football championship of Europe organised by UEFA.

It is scheduled to be held in 12 cities in 12 European countries from 12 June to 12 July 2020. Portugal are the defending champions, winning the 2016edition. For the first time, the video assistant referee (VAR) system will be used at the UEFA European Championship.

Former UEFA President Michel Platini said the tournament being hosted in several nations is a “romantic” one-off event to celebrate the 60th “birthday” of the European Championship competition. The winner will earn the right to participate in the 2021 FIFA Confederations Cup. Wembley Stadium in London is planned to host the semi-finals and final for the second time, having done so before at the 1996 tournament.


The UEFA 2020 draw for the final tournament will be held on 1 December 2019.The 24 teams are drawn into six groups of four. The identity of the four play-off teams are not known at the time of the draw, and will be identified as play-off winners 1 to 4. The following principles will be applied:

  • The teams are seeded in accordance with the European Qualifiers overall ranking based on their results in UEFA Euro 2020 qualifying.
  • For host teams which have qualified, or may qualify through play-offs, they will be drawn into the groups based on the host city pairings.
  • If both host teams within one group qualify directly for the final tournament, a draw will decide which team host their head-to-head match.
  • If there are groups which cannot be finalised at the time of the final tournament draw, another draw will be held after the play-offs in April 2020.


The UEFA Euro 2020 qualifying tournament is an upcoming football competition that will be played from March 2019 to March 2020 to determine the 24 UEFA member men’s national teams that will enter into the UEFA Euro 2020 final tournament. The competition will be linked with the 2018–19 edition of the UEFA Nations League, giving countries a secondary route to qualify for the final tournament. For the first time since 1976, no team will automatically qualify for the UEFA European Championship as the host country.

55 national teams will participate in the qualifying process, with Kosovo taking part for the first time.

Euro 2020 TV Rights

Albania – SuperSport
Austria – ORF
Azerbaijan – CBC Sport
Belgium – RTBF VRT
Bosnia and Herzegovina – Sport Klub Nova BH
Croatia – Sport Klub Nova TV
Cyprus – CyBC
Czech Republic – ČT
Denmark – NENT
Estonia – ERR
Finland – Yle
Georgia – GPB
Germany – ARD ZDF
Greece – IPG
Hungary – MTV
Iceland – 365 Media
Ireland – RTÉ
Italy – RAI Sky Italia

Kazakhstan – Saran Media
Kosovo – SuperSport
Latvia – MTG
Lithuania – LNK
Macedonia – Sport Klub
Malta – PBS
Moldova – GMG
Montenegro – Sport Klub Nova M
Netherlands – NOS
Norwa – NRK TV 2
Poland – TVP
Portugal – RTP
Romania – Pro TV
Russia – Telesport
Serbia – Sport Klub
Slovakia – RTVS
Slovenia – Sport Klub
Spain – Mediaset España
Sweden – SVT & TV4
Switzerland SRG & SSR
Turkey – TRT
Ukraine – Media Group Ukraine
United Kingdom – BBC & ITV

Rest of the world

Australia – Optus Sport
Brazil – Globosat
Canada – TVA Sports
Caribbean – ESPN
China – Shankai Sports
Fiji – FBC
Indian subcontinent – Sony Pictures Networks
Indonesia – IMG
Kyrgyzstan – Saran
Macau – TDM
Singapore – Eleven Sports
South Africa – SuperSport
Sub-Saharan Africa – SuperSport & Kwesé Sports
Taiwan – Eleven Sports
Tajikistan – Saran
Turkmenistan – Saran
United States – ESPN Univision
Uzbekistan – Saran

Share this to your friends