Monte Carlo Masters Champions

Monte Carlo Masters Champions. Rafael Nadal is the reigning champion in Monte Carlo and by far the most successful player of all time in Monaco. This year he is looking for his 12th title in the first Masters 1000 on clay of the season.

Nadal will have a lot of challengers this year. World number one Novak Djokovic has not been in top form the last month but can be the biggest threat to a record breaking 12th title for Nadal. The Indian Wells champion Dominic Thiem is the only player to defeat Nadal on clay for the last two years and he might also be the premier challenger for the “king of clay”. Bet on your favourite to win in Monte Carlo with BETSSON and earn a great bonus.

Monte Carlo Masters Champions

Year  Single Double
2018  Rafael Nadal Mike Bryan/Bob Bryan
2017  Rafael Nadal R. Bopanna/P. Cuevas
2016  Rafael Nadal P-H Herbert/N. Mahut
2015  Novak Djokovic Mike Bryan/Bob Bryan
2014  Stanislas Wawrinka Mike Bryan/Bob Bryan
2013  Novak Djokovic J. Benneteau/N. Zimonjic
2012  Rafael Nadal Mike Bryan/Bob Bryan
2011  Rafael Nadal Mike Bryan/Bob Bryan
2010  Rafael Nadal D. Nestor/N. Zimonjic
2009  Rafael Nadal D. Nestor/N. Zimonjic
2008  Rafael Nadal R. Nadal/T. Robredo
2007  Rafael Nadal Mike Bryan/Bob Bryan
2006  Rafael Nadal Max Mirnyi/Jonas Bjorkman
2005  Rafael Nadal L. Paes/N. Zimonjic
2004  Guillermo Coria T. Henman/N. Zimonjic
2003  Juan Carlos Ferrero M. Mirnyi/M. Bhupathi
2002  Juan Carlos Ferrero J. Bjorkman/T. Woodbridge
2001  Gustavo Kuerten J. Bjorkman/T. Woodbridge
2000  Cedric Pioline Y. Kafelnikov/W. Ferreira
1999 Gustavo Kuerten O. Delaitre/T. Henman
1998  Carlos Moya Jacco Eltingh/Paul Haarhuis
1997  Marcelo Rios F. Montana/D. Johnson
1996  Thomas Muster Jan Siemerink/Ellis Ferreira
1995  Thomas Muster Paul Haarhuis/Jacco Eltingh
1994  Andrei Medvedev M. Larsson/N. Kulti
1993  Sergi Bruguera Petr Korda/Stefan Edberg
1992  Thomas Muster Boris Becker/Michael Stich
1991  Sergi Bruguera Luke Jensen/Laurie Warder
1990  Andrei Chesnokov Petr Korda/Tomas Smid
1989  Alberto Mancini M. Woodforde/T. Smid
1988  Ivan Lendl E. Sanchez/S. Casal
1987  Mats Wilander A. Gomez/H. Gildemeister
1986  Joakim Nystrom Yannick Noah/Guy Forget
1985  Ivan Lendl Pavel Slozil/Tomas Smid
1984  Henrik Sundstrom M. Edmondson/S. Stewart
1983  Mats Wilander H. Gunthardt/B. Taroczy
1982  Guillermo Vilas P. McNamara/P. McNamee
1981  Guillermo Vilas/Jimmy Connors – Rained Out B. Taroczy/H. Gunthardt
1980  Bjorn Borg P. Bertolucci/A. Panatta
1979  Bjorn Borg Ilie Nastase/Raul Ramirez
1978  Raul Ramirez Peter Fleming/Tomas Smid
1977  Bjorn Borg Jan Kodes/Francois Jauffret
1976  Guillermo Vilas Karl Meiler/Wojtek Fibak
1975  Manuel Orantes Frew McMillan/Bob Hewitt
1974  Andrew Pattison John Alexander/Phil Dent
1973  Ilie Nastase Juan Gisbert Sr/Ilie Nastase
1972  Ilie Nastase Patrice Beust/Daniel Contet
1971  Ilie Nastase Ion Tiriac/Ilie Nastase
1970  Zeljko Franulovic Marty Riessen/Roger Taylor
1969  Tom Okker O. Davidson/J. Newcombe
1968  Nicola Pietrangeli A. Metreveli/S. Likhachev

Above is the list of all the champions during the open era of tennis. The very first Monte Carlo Tennis tournament was played 1897 and Brit Reginald Doherty won the first edition. Doherty also won 4 Wimbledon titles and 3 Olympic Gold medals in doubles and was the most successful player in Monte Carlo with 6 singles titles until Rafa Nadal surpassed him. The Spaniard has 11 Monte Carlo titles to date and his the number one of all the Monte Carlo Masters Champions and the best clay court player all-time. Bet on Rafael Nadal every time in clay court tournaments. UNIBET offers great bonuses and the best odds on Tennis betting.

ALSO READ – FREE LIVE STREAM MONTE CARLO – get to watch for free Plus claim an amazing betting bonus.

Share this to your friends

Mikael Olsson

Mikael is a passionate tennis-lover since Björn Borg won the epic Wimbledon final against John McEnroe 1980. Mikael has written over 4 000 articles covering the ATP World Tour and has a +80% success rate in his tennis predictions.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *