Rafael Nadal’s French Open Stats

Rafael Nadal’s French Open Stats. After winning his 12th title at the 2019 French Open, Rafael Nadal’s French Open overall win loss record stood at 93 wins and just 2 losses. Rafa won his first French Open title as a 19 year old back in 2005. He has since racked up a further 12 French Open titles, including the 2020 championship.

Rafael Nadal’s French Open stats is the most impressive stats in any Grand Slam tournament, male or female, in history. Last year he became the first player to win 12 slams in one tournament and left Australian Margaret Court in second place with 11 Australian Open titles in women’s singles. In 2020 he reached yet another milestone adding his 13th Roland Garros title and equaling Roger Federer at 20 Grand Slam crowns as number one all-time.


100 wins – 2 losses
13 titles
5 straight titles (2010-2014)
4 straight titles (2005-2008)
4 straight titles (2017-2020)

In 2020 with the 13th title and 6-0, 6-2, 7-5 against Novak Djokovic in the final Nadal became the first player in history with 4 Grand Slam titles won without losing a set.

List of Rafael Nadal’s French Open titles

Year  Champion  RU Match score
2005  Rafael Nadal  Mariano Puerta  6–7(6–8), 6–3, 6–1, 7–5
2006  Rafael Nadal  Roger Federer  1–6, 6–1, 6–4, 7–6(7–4)
2007  Rafael Nadal  Roger Federer  6–3, 4–6, 6–3, 6–4
2008  Rafael Nadal  Roger Federer  6–1, 6–3, 6–0
2010  Rafael Nadal  Robin Soderling  6–4, 6–2, 6–4
2011  Rafael Nadal  Roger Federer  7–5, 7–6(7–3), 5–7, 6–1
2012  Rafael Nadal  Novak Djokovic  6–4, 6–3, 2–6, 7–5
2013  Rafael Nadal  David Ferrer  6–3, 6–2, 6–3
2014  Rafael Nadal  Novak Djokovic  3–6, 7–5, 6–2, 6–4
2017  Rafael Nadal  Stan Wawrinka  6–2, 6–3, 6–1
2018  Rafael Nadal  Dominic Thiem  6–4, 6–3, 6–2
2019  Rafael Nadal  Dominic Thiem  6–3, 5-7, 6–1, 6-1
2020  Rafael Nadal  Novak Djokovic  6–0, 6–2, 7–5

Players to beat Nadal at the French Open

  • Robin Soderling – 4th Round 2009
  • Novak Djokovic – Quarter finals 2015

The two players to defeat Nadal at the French Open are Swede Robin Soderling in the 4th Round of the 2009 Open, and Novak Djokovic in the 2015 Quarter finals. Nadal withdrew from the 2016 championship with a wrist injury before his 3rd round match against fellow Spaniard Marcel Granollers. At the 2009 loss against Soderling Nadal was injured in both knees and had to withdraw from Queens and Wimbledon as defending champion in July. In 2015 against Djokovic the Spaniard had no confidence and experienced his worst year on the ATP tour finishing the year at No. 9 at the ATP rankings.

Robin Soderling

For the record, Soderling took all before him at the 2009 French Open, only succumbing to Roger Federer in the final. When he defeated Nadal in the 4th round, it was Nadal’s first loss at Roland Garros after 31 consecutive victories. Indeed, it was his first loss on clay in best of 5 set tennis. Nadal was affected by injury during the 2009 campaign and later withdrew from both Queens Club and Wimbledon the same year.

Novak Djokovic

Serbian Novak Djokovic is only the second player to defeat Nadal at the French Open. The result was far less of a surprise than it was when Soderling beat Nadal, Djokovic even entering the match as the favourite. Nadal had been struggling in his return to competitive tennis after several injuries. Djokovic went on to the final the same year but lost to Stan Wawrinka.

Nadal celebrates a record 10th French Open title

2020 French Open – Best Betting Odds

It comes as no surprise that every betting site is listing a fit Nadal as the raging favourite for the 2020 French Open. Nadal is ranked number two in the world and has had a great last 3 years on tour without serious injuries.

1. RAFAEL NADAL – 2.05

…for more player odds and specials visit UNIBET and claim a great 500% betting bonus.


Square image - Nadal during his 2019 French Open campaign, where he won his 12th Championship and extended his win loss record at Roland Garros to 93 wins and 2 losses

Share this to your friends

Mikael Olsson

Mikael is a passionate tennis-lover since Björn Borg won the epic Wimbledon final against John McEnroe 1980. Mikael has written over 4 000 articles covering the ATP World Tour and has a +80% success rate in his tennis predictions.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *