Superettan Champions

Superettan Champions. Superettan is an association football league and the second highest league in the league system of Swedish men’s football. It is Contested by 16 clubs, it operates on a system of promotion and relegation with Allsvenskan and Division 1. Seasons run from April to October, with teams playing 30 matches each, totalling 240 matches in the season.

The Superettan league was created in 2000. The second tier of Swedish football had previously consisted of a varying number of regionalized leagues operating under the Division 2 (1924–1986) and Division 1 (1987–1999) names.

Zlatan Ibrahimovic scored 12 goals in the inaugural Superettan season to help Malmö FF get promoted.

Superettan Champions

Season Winner Runner-up Promotion Playoffs

2000 Djurgårdens IF Malmö FF Mjällby AIF
2001 Kalmar FF Landskrona BoIS Mjällby AIF
2002 Östers IF Enköpings SK Västra Frölunda IF
2003 Kalmar FF Trelleborgs FF BK Häcken
2004 BK Häcken Gefle IF Assyriska FF (promoted)
2005 AIK Östers IF GAIS (promoted)
2006 Trelleborgs FF Örebro SK IF Brommapojkarna (promoted)
2007 IFK Norrköping Ljungskile SK GIF Sundsvall (promoted)
2008 Örgryte IS BK Häcken IF Brommapojkarna (promoted)
2009 Mjällby AIF Åtvidabergs FF Assyriska FF
2010 Syrianska FC IFK Norrköping GIF Sundsvall
2011 Åtvidabergs FF GIF Sundsvall Ängelholms FF
2012 Östers IF IF Brommapojkarna Halmstads BK (promoted)
2013 Falkenbergs FF Örebro SK GIF Sundsvall
2014 Hammarby IF GIF Sundsvall Ljungskile SK
2015 Jönköpings Södra IF Östersunds FK IK Sirius
2016 IK Sirius AFC United Halmstads BK (promoted)

ALSO READ: FOOTBALL STATS – stats from numerous football leagues in the world.

Share this to your friends