NBA Finals

NBA finals. All the NBA finals and scores since 1947. Last season Golden State Warriors became the NBA Champions.

NBA Finals

Year Western Champion Result Eastern Champion

2017 Golden State Warriors 4-1 Cleveland Cavaliers
2016 Cleveland Cavaliers 4-3 Golden State Warriors
2015 Golden State Warriors 4-2 Cleveland Cavaliers
2014 San Antonio Spurs 4-1 Miami Heat
2013 Miami Heat 4-3 San Antonio Spurs
2012 Miami Heat 4-1 Oklahoma City Thunder
2011 Dallas Mavericks 4-2 Miami Heat
2010 Los Angeles Lakers 4-3 Boston Celtics
2009 Los Angeles Lakers 4-1 Orlando Magic
2008 Boston Celtics 4-2 Los Angeles Lakers
2007 San Antonio Spurs 4-0 Cleveland Cavaliers
2006 Miami Heat 4-2 Dallas Mavericks
2005 San Antonio Spurs 4-3 Detroit Pistons
2004 Detroit Pistons 4-1 Los Angeles Lakers
2003 San Antonio Spurs 4-2 New Jersey Nets
2002 Los Angeles Lakers 4-0 New Jersey Nets
2001 Los Angeles Lakers 4-1 Philadelphia 76ers
2000 Los Angeles Lakers 4-2 Indiana Pacers
1999 San Antonio Spurs 4-1 New York Knicks
1998 Chicago Bulls 4-2 Utah Jazz
1997 Chicago Bulls 4-2 Utah Jazz
1996 Chicago Bulls 4-2 Seattle SuperSonics
1995 Houston Rockets 4-0 Orlando Magic
1994 Houston Rockets 4-3 New York Knicks
1993 Chicago Bulls 4-2 Phoenix Suns
1992 Chicago Bulls 4-2 Portland Trail Blazers
1991 Chicago Bulls 4-1 Los Angeles Lakers
1990 Detroit Pistons 4-1 Portland Trail Blazers
1989 Detroit Pistons 4-0 Los Angeles Lakers
1988 Los Angeles Lakers 4-3 Detroit Pistons
1987 Los Angeles Lakers 4-2 Boston Celtics
1986 Boston Celtics 4-2 Houston Rockets
1985 Los Angeles Lakers 4-2 Boston Celtics
1984 Boston Celtics 4-3 Los Angeles Lakers
1983 Philadelphia 76ers 4-0 Los Angeles Lakers
1982 Los Angeles Lakers 4-2 Philadelphia 76ers
1981 Boston Celtics 4-2 Houston Rockets
1980 Los Angeles Lakers 4-2 Philadelphia 76ers
1979 Seattle SuperSonics 4-1 Washington Bullets
1978 Washington Bullets 4-3 Seattle SuperSonics
1977 Portland Trail Blazers 4-2 Philadelphia 76ers
1976 Boston Celtics 4-2 Phoenix Suns
1975 Golden State Warriors 4-0 Washington Bullets
1974 Boston Celtics 4-3 Milwaukee Bucks
1973 New York Knicks 4-1 Los Angeles Lakers
1972 Los Angeles Lakers 4-1 New York Knicks
1971 Milwaukee Bucks 4-0 Baltimore Bullets
1970 New York Knicks 4-3 Los Angeles Lakers
1969 Boston Celtics 4-3 Los Angeles Lakers
1968 Boston Celtics 4-2 Los Angeles Lakers
1967 Philadelphia 76ers 4-2 San Francisco Warriors
1966 Boston Celtics 4-3 Los Angeles Lakers
1965 Boston Celtics 4-1 Los Angeles Lakers
1964 Boston Celtics 4-1 San Francisco Warriors
1963 Boston Celtics 4-2 Los Angeles Lakers
1962 Boston Celtics 4-3 Los Angeles Lakers
1961 Boston Celtics 4-1 St. Louis Hawks
1960 Boston Celtics 4-3 St. Louis Hawks
1959 Boston Celtics 4-0 Minneapolis Lakers
1958 St. Louis Hawks 4-2 Boston Celtics
1957 Boston Celtics 4-3 St. Louis Hawks
1956 Philadelphia Warriors 4-1 Fort Wayne Pistons
1955 Syracuse Nationals 4-3 Fort Wayne Pistons
1954 Minneapolis Lakers 4-3 Syracuse Nationals
1953 Minneapolis Lakers 4-1 New York Knicks
1952 Minneapolis Lakers 4-3 New York Knicks
1951 Rochester Royals 4-3 New York Knicks
1950 Minneapolis Lakers 4-2 Syracuse Nationals
1949 Minneapolis Lakers 4-2 Washington Capitols
1948 Baltimore Bullets 4-2 Philadelphia Warriors
1947 Philadelphia Warriors 4-1 Chicago Stags

The history of the NBA finals

The NBA Finals evolved from a simple championship playoff in the late 40’s into one of the most anticipated series in all of sports. The first NBA finals were played following the 1946-47 season where the Philadelphia Warriors emerged victorious over the Chicago Stags. The Warriors now hail from the Golden State, and the Stags are no more, but the Finals carry on. Since its earliest inception, the NBA finals has been dominated by dynasties, such as the Los Angeles Lakers, the Boston Celtics, Chicago Bulls, and San Antonio Spurs. In addition to these dynasties, there were rivalries that really established the NBA Finals as must see TV. BET ON NBA here

The first true NBA Dynasty was the Minneapolis Lakers, who won 5 titles in a 6 year span from 1948-1954. This team was led by legendary center George Mikan. This Lakers team established the fact that the best teams in the world were playing in this annual tournament and lent legitimacy to the NBA Finals.

The next dynasty to dominate the NBA finals was the Boston Celtics. It can be argued this dynasty is the most impressive in all of sports. The Boston Celtics, led by such players as Bill Russell and John Havlicek, went to 12 NBA finals series in 13 years between 1957-1969. During that time span they won 11 championships, including 8 straight titles. The team was led by legendary coach Red Auerbach, whom many experts tab as the best head coach in NBA history because of the Celtics’ dominance during the late 1950’s and the 1960’s.

BET ON NBA – the best odds & betting promotions.

After the demise of the Boston Celtics dynasty the 1970’s saw 8 different teams capture the NBA title. This is the most teams to win a championship in any decade in NBA history. NBA Finals began to lose its luster due to the lack of an ascendant dynasty upon which fans and rival teams could focus their attention.

The league’s popularity boomed once more with the Lakers-Celtics rivalry of the 1980’s. The Boston Celtics were led by Larry Bird and the Lakers led by Magic Johnson. The rivalry between these two teams is widely considered to be the best rivalry in all of NBA history. During the 1980’s, either one or both of these team played in the NBA finals, with the Lakers claiming 5 titles and the Celtics claiming 3. This rivalry gained international attention and allowed new players to become stars while aging players began to retire. This evolution would be important to the next dynasty led by the greatest player in the history of the NBA.

In the 1990’s, the Chicago Bulls were led by Michael Jordan and the team that built up around him, one that made themselves into one of the most successful teams in NBA history. The team won 6 championships in 8 years from 1991 through 1998. The 2 losses occurred when Michael Jordan left basketball for two years to pursue a lifelong desire to play baseball.

After the Bulls dynasty was dismantled following the 1998 season, there have been two teams that have dominated the NBA finals and have won the majority of the titles since. The Los Angeles Lakers and San Antonio Spurs have won 7 titles combined since 1999. The Los Angeles Lakers won three straight NBA championships from 2000-2002 led by Shaquille O’ Neal and Kobe Bryant. The San Antonio Spurs have won 4 titles since 1999 led by such players as Tim Duncan, Robert Horry, and Tony Parker and every year since 1999 have been a favorite to win the NBA finals because of playoff experience.

The roles of the dynasty has led to the popularity of the NBA finals over the years. Fans of other teams would wait for the reigning dynasty to trip up, following the finals even if their team was not playing. It can be argued without the success of the Los Angeles Lakers and Boston Celtics throughout NBA finals history that it might not be the event that it is today. That rivalry brought the country together as every fan picked a side. The NBA finals is becoming stronger than ever with many young players beginning to establish themselves as the next generation of legitimate superstars.

ALSO READ: NBA STATS – more stats from the NBA.

Share this to your friends